Delhi University Sports Council

University Pologround, University of Delhi Delhi-110009

DUSC/2017-18/IC/799 Dated: 22-1-18

Delhi University Inter-College Yoga (M&W) Championship 2017-18

Dates of Championship	:	15 th & 16 th February, 2018	
Venue	:	Multipurpose Hall, University of Delhi	
Reporting Time & Draws	:	8:00am daily (Team reporting late will not be entertained)	
Important	•	Eligibility Performa duly signed by the Competent Authority. Players must bring their College Identity Card failing which they will not be allowed to participate. Team Manager must be present at the time of Competition. Delhi University team will be selected during Competition.	

Note: Copy of the Syllabus, Rules & Regulations is enclosed for your ready reference.

Tournament Committee:

Dr. Abha Jain (9711166564) Dr. Charanjeet Kaur Dr. Shweta Suri Dr. J.P. Sharma Dr. Sunita Arora Dr. Shalini Malhotra

hu-2/1/18

Dr. Anil Kumar Kalkal Director, Physical Education Convenor

Janki Devi Memorial College Mata Sundri College Kamla Nehru College IGIPESS Lakshmibai College MotiLal Nehru College

Delhi University Sports Council

University Pologround, University of Delhi Delhi-110009

Syllabus, Rules & Regulations for Yoga (Men & Women)

Part- A

Compulsory Yogic Exercises (Men & Women)

I. ASANAS (Men & Women)

- 1. Paschimottanasan
- 2. Sarvangasana
- 3. Dhanurasana
- 4. Karna Pidasana

II. Surya Namashkar in Twelve Counts (Men & Women)

III. Shat Kriyas (Women)

- 1. Jal Neti or Sutra Neti
- Shit Karam Kapalbhati (Jal Kapalbhati) (Water intake through mouth and out through nostrils)

IV. Shat Kriyas (Men)

- Shit Karam Kapalbhati (Jal Kapalbhati) (Water intake through mouth and out through nostrils)
- 2. Vastra Dhauti (muslin cloth 6 to 7 mts. in length and 8 cms. in width)

or

Nauli (Vam, Dakshin and Madhyan)

Part- B

Optional Yogic Exercises – (Select any three respectively)

Men			Women		
1.	Mayurasana	1.	Vatayanasana		
2.	Padambakasana (Urdhva Kukuttasana)	2.	Purna Bhujangasana		
3.	Hanumanasana	3.	Purna Matasendrasana		
4.	Titiabhasana	4.	Ekpad Shirasasana		
5.	Purna Chakra Badhasana	5.	Ardha Badh Padmotanasana		
6.	Setubandh Sarvangasana	6.	Vibhakta Paschimottanasana		
7.	Vrischikasana	7.	Natrajasana		
8.	Purna Shalabhasana	8.	Ekpad Rajkapaopasana		

- 1. Inter College Yoga Championship shall be held for both Men and Women sections separately in the Asanas and Kriyas (Exercises).
- 2. A Team may consist maximum of six competitors (including one reserve). A Team consisting less then five competitors, shall not be eligible for Team championship but their performance will be considered for Individual position. For Team championship Marks of only best five will be counted.
- 3. The competitors will have to retain each Yogic exercise as follows which will be counted after attaining the final position.
 - i) One minute for each Compulsory Asana and 30 seconds for Optional Asana.
 - ii) One round of Surya Namaskar (in twelve counts)
 - iii) Within two minutes each for Sutraneti, Jalneti, Nauli and Shit Karma Kapalbhati and within 10 minutes for Vastra Dhauti.

4. Yogic Exercise of Part A (a) will be performed together and other Yogic Exercise will be performed on by one by each member of the Team.

5. Marks for Part A and Part B are as under:

- Part A: a)Four Compulsory Asanas40 marksb)Surya Namaskar10 marksc)Two Shati Kriyas20 marksPart B:Three Optional Asanas30 marksTotal:
- 6. One Chief Judge plus Five Judges, a Scorer and Time Keeper will be appointed for the conduct of the Competition.
- 7. The sequence of participating Teams shall be drawn by the organizer.
- 8. Dress: The Men and Women competitors will wear the following dress during then Competition:

Men	-	Short and Vest / Sports Shirt
Women	-	Short and Sports Shirts / Gymnastic Costume

- 9. The Judge will award the marks out of ten to each competitor for each yogic exercise separately. The maximum and minimum marks will be deleted. The average of other remaining three will constitute the final score. In case more than one Judge give the same Maximum or Minimum score, the score awarded by only one Judge will be deleted and other will be counted Maximum or Minimum.
- 10. The Judge will be free to move about in order to observe the different aspect of a posture from difference angles during the retention period. He can ask any competitor to perform any Yogic exercise again.
- 11. The efficiency of the Yogic exercise will be Judged on the basis of degree of flexibility required in each exercise, duration of retention of the position, calmness and final position maintained therein.
- 12. All the participating Colleges will be submitting the list of their competitors (Not more than six in each section) along with the list of Yogic exercise of their choice to the Organizer.
- 13. In case of a tie, it will be decided as follows:
 - a) Aggregate of Marks in compulsory Yogic exercises.
 - b) Aggregate of Marks in optional Yogic exercises.
 - c) Aggregate of Marks in the performance of the remaining exercises.

Note:

1. The word "Exercise" appearing in the rules means "Kriyas, Yogic asana and Suryanamaskar"

2. Detail of asanas are given in the book "light of Yoga" by B.K.S.Iyanger.